rageek

A place for Unix Thoughts and Ideas

Cleaning up zone package management locks

While trying to deploy OEM Ops Center, I was noticing that my deploys were hanging on my large global zone servers.

On investigation, I noticed that stale package locks in my local zones were preventing the package installation from completing.

I’m sure these locks usually serve a important purpose, but I’m also aware that the package management framework hasn’t been bullet proof with Solaris 10 zones.

The solution, was the kill the installer, clear the locks and re-run the installation.

Here is how you find the locks:

List the locks
# ls /zones/*/root/tmp/.ai.pkg.zone.lock-*

Remove the locks
# rm /zones/*/root/tmp/.ai.pkg.zone.lock-*

BTW, before removing the locks, ,ake sure there isn’t any package operations going on in any of the zones prior, otherwise strange things may happen.

Leave a Reply

